Trouble Won’t Last Always

This is the day that the Lord Has Made.  The pastor began with Psalm 34 where David begins by saying I will praise the Lord at all times. He then talks about that when you seek the Lord he will deliver you from fear.  NOT from the thing from which you are afraid, but from the fear of the thing.  Now that is far different from what most of us want.  Well, maybe not you, me. 

I had a weekend where I was mom taxi again.  I loved it this time.  Saturday I spent the day driving to UC Berkeley where my 14-year-old was accepted into an entrepreneurial program during his 8th grade year at the HAAS School of Business.  They meet monthly for the next 4 years.  A great program for him that he really enjoys and one that has exposed him to an amazing group of local business people who have made it and exposure to the campus and the students and the professors who give their time to talk to these young people.  My other children came with me and my second son wanted to go and hang out with one of his long time buddies (they are 11 now) that lives in Oakland.  They had of course already arranged the visit so both his mom and I just said ok and I dropped him off. He was in heaven.  My daughter who had announced to me last week that she wanted to spend time alone with just she and I.  She of course added that she wanted to go to McDonald’s and eat and then she could play.  I said it sounds like I am getting the raw end of the deal and she said not we can just talk me and you.  That is what we did.  She talked and I talked, we looked into each other’s eyes and she seemed so happy for me to pay attention to her only.  After she had eaten her 2 McGriddles she went to play and I opened my book and I was in heaven.  A whole hour uninterrupted – I was able to read!!  She came back every 10 minutes or so to get a drink and after the 3rd trip back she came with a friend.  My daughter meets other children so easily.  They bounded back and she took a sip and her friend took a sip from her grandmother’s table (who was also in heaven – you have no idea unless you have one how much a little girl can talk and talk and talk). They both bounced back to the play structure and I got back into my book Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean M. Auel.  My sister turned me on to this book and I love it!   This writer can write about drinking water and I promise you by the time you finished reading her description your thirst will have been quenched.

I say all of this to say that my fear over being alone, over the money that I have to pay for the plumbing, over the things that I cannot control subsided.  HIs angels have surrounded me and managed to give me comfort.  I  think of the Haitian people sleeping in the streets, of the mothers who cannot feed their children, of the children who have lost a parent,  of all the homes and businesses that are destroyed and the fathers who feel helpless and then my little problems are well just little. Psalm 34 adds to taste and see that the Lord is good blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him. This reminds me to put all things in perspective.

I write  to retire at 55 and I write for comfort, for peace, for my sanity and because I love it. God has blessed me with this ability to write and blessings given must be used.  I honor the Lord with my gift of gratitude for not only this gift, also my 3 children who are unique and individually gifted.

Leave a Reply

