I am an author

I am now on Day 6 of my workbook written by my writing coach Teresa LeYung Ryan, Build Your Name, Beat the Game: Be Happily Published (http://WritingCoachTeresa.com).  The goal is to thrive as an author and from my perspective to make yourself write and to think about what you are as a person. It takes 21 days to change a habit. So, Teresa gives you a workbook that takes 22 days to complete. I plan to complete it as I am a writer who will retire at 55.

Today was a good day and the words were all jumbled in my head between work and my writing and the kids – it seemed that today if I could have had about 50 writers I could have gotten everything done. Oh well, it is just me you know.

All 3 of my children were in great moods and I was glad about that.  Tonight was the same ole’ stuff reading with my middle son which went well.  He is adjusting and thinking about his cooking project and his school project on Oklahoma. He was telling me that he needed to find out what is the capital of Oklahoma and that there are 2 ways to spell capital – with an al and an ol.  I smiled and then I showed him how to find the answer by using the index in his research book. He seemed amazed at how fast I found it. I know – good mommie!!  

My daughter who is 8 is struggling with multiplication tables. She has her 5’s and her 7’s down pretty good, and of course her 1’s, 2’s, and 10’s. If it isn’t one thing it is another with children.  This weekend she and I are going to be doing flash cards and hopefully she will begin to get it.  She is an excellent reader and she loves to write. Go figure! Often times when I go into her room she is sitting there with a notebook and a book writing and talking to herself.  She writes stories and she copies books into her notebook.  She loves journals and she has many.

My oldest son is so cool and his voice has gotten so deep that often times I think there is a man in the house.  He is 14. His homework requires more time as he is in the 9th grade.  We talk about it, he tells me what’s going on, he admits when he is struggling and then I step in and show him a better way and then if necessary I have e-mailed the teachers – in his case Spanish and his Exploratory Technology class. He has a 3.3 GPA.  I suspect he will pull it up by end of the year.  He has a great sense of humor and is so laid back sometimes I even wonder how he manages to get dressed. He is so smooth and he appears to be moving so slow – but when I look up – he is completely dressed and ready to go. He is a pretty good ball handler, was the captain of his freshman basketball team. To sit in the gym and watch him play was absolute joy. The child who can’t stand to swallow cough syrup without almost gagging or even understand that dirty clothes really do not belong on the floor of your bedroom for let’s say no more than 3 days; can navigate and control a basketball court and his teammates with such polish. His coach told me that he was a good kid and going to go far. I believe him.  One day he will, for now, I am still praying that he keeps his pants from sagging.  So far, so good.

I am working on finalizing a project, another assignment from Teresa, which requires me to be clear about the message I plan to deliver.  That Teresa, is a wonder woman if I have ever seen one. I have my outline and what I want to do. Now I have to make it real clear for my presentation. No problem right?!

One Response

  1. hey baby where can i buy teresa’s book? sounds like somthing i can use right now. i am in the process of really trying to stop smoking & for the first time eva’ i want to do this my wieght is coming off, now the next step is to stop smoking. love you, love your stories, love your babies!!!!

Leave a Reply

