A good day

God has blessed me and my children.  I just had a couple of good days with myself alone and then with my children together.  My laptop is installing an update which is taking  longer than I think it should.  I hope nothing is wrong.  I had to write something so I went downstairs and got my sons laptop.  As I sit on my bed and write I find I really don’t have anything earth shattering to talk about.  Tomorrow I have to get up early to wake my son up for his 8 a.m. soccer game. We have to be at the field at 7:30 a.m.

The soccer field parking lot at 7:30 in the morning, on a Saturday, is packed with cars and vans and trucks and the field; well it is a sea of strollers, little brothers and sisters who just woke up, grandmothers and grandfathers and coaches and boys and girls who want to play soccer.  Packed!!!  I wonder when I come there how parents can get their children up and dressed for any game football, baseball, basketball and soccer;  however, they cannot seem to find the time to show up for a PTA  meeting, take their children to church, teach their children the gift of service by taking them to a homeless shelter or show them the benefit of doing volunteer work for someone in their community that need s a helping hand. 

Parents we need to re-prioritize and include service as we raise our children. We need to teach them that life is a gift and education and honesty and integrity are more important than a sport.  We have to show them by example, not by talking.  By action.

 Yolande Barial, a writer, inspirational

Leave a Reply

