Saving a penny

I spent the last few days feeling a little paranoid about money. Not that I don’t have enough, just that just in case something happens will I have enough. I have had several real good girlfriends experience the ultimate in tough times: one had to give up her house because after 2 years of trying to work a deal with the bank they would not refinance and she was upside down and a single mother of children finally decided to leave and walk away and get a rental house so that she could provide for her children, another friend found out that her landlord was in foreclosure and did not tell her and now she  has to move with her child that she is the sole supporter of,  another friend is filing bankruptcy and having to change her entire way of  living and spending,  two coworkers’  husbands lost their jobs and now these two women are doing all it takes to keep their husbands and their children together – trying to refinance and moving to a less expensive home, negotiating with creditors and robbing peter to pay paul.  I have listened to strangers that tell me about their struggles.  They guy who installed my alarm had been out of work for so long that he and his wife had lost their beautiful home and he was just lucky (his words) to get this job and now they live in an apartment with no benefits and not retirement – he had to be in his mid 50’s. I was walking down the street  and ran into a stationery bicycle on the sidewalk of a home.  In Tracy when you see that it means that the item is free. So I walked into the open garage and said hello and a woman came out and I asked her if it was free and does it work. She said yes to both and then asked me did I want anything else? Everything in her garage and in her house was free!! Then her husband came out and started telling me why they were leaving. He began by saying that  he had 4 rental homes and he use to make over $20,000 a month and then he had a stroke. He was unable to work and therefore he got behind in bills. He lost all 4 of his rental homes and his family has been paying their rent on this house. He applied for assistance and finally recieved it. They were moving into another rental that takes section 8. He was in his 60’s. He and his wife have no retirement. I sat down on the couch in his garage and said I am so sorry.  I asked him how do you cope? He said I don’t know as he looked past me.  I was sad and he was sadder. The message that I heard through him and from HIM was  there before the Grace of God go I!!!  Be humble, handle business and pray, pray, pray and Yolande and Pray again. I didn’t know this man and yet I did.

  The toll that all of this takes on people can definitely affect how a person thinks and feels about life and about each other. The amazing thing is that these people just move on to the next phase of their lives and get rid of all of the baggage. I have thought about ways that I can cut back and begin to get a little cushion.  I called PG&E today and learned about kilowatt hours and how much the charge is for them and how many do I spend and ways that I can reduce the bill, I called DISH and removed HBO and saved about $16 dollars and it cost me $5 to remove it! I called AT&T and reduced my phone  bill to only $8 because if I canceled the phone connection my internet connection speed would decrease so I had to keep it minimally, I was unable to remove the alarm bill because I am locked into a 3 year contract with them, I am considering increasing my rent on my rental house and I had already changed my cell phone bill to unlimited coverage.

When I told my kids that I removed HBO – the older one said oh, the middle one groaned and the smaller one isn’t quite sure that I meant and that it is really gone. Oh well. I explained to them that my money is tight and I need to start cutting back where I can.  I want to be able to provide for my children not only the basics but a treat every now and then. I realize that these dollars are minimal however my thought is something is better than nothing.   Tomorrow my middle son is in a soccer tournament which begins around 8 in the morning. We have to be there at 7:30 blech! My other 2 are suppose to see their dad. I hope so. Tomorrow is a day that I know I will remember.

Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose
Seeks to enrich the lives of women through spoken word.
510-589-6445
yolandebarial@wordpress.com
www.redroom.com/member
ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers all sisters, young and seasoned, to become on-purpose for themselves.”

Leave a Reply

