Proud Mom

When I went to sleep last night and woke up this morning I knew that today was not going to be the day for me. It would be the day that I spent driving and cheering and clapping and driving and smiling for my sons and my daughter.  I knew that today I would be tired, just thinking about it did not make me smile.  It was 6:30 a.m. My daughter woke up this morning in a particular whiney mood.  One thing I can not tolerate is a whining child. Well, she began my day with the sound of her whining and staring at an object somewhere on the floor in her bedroom. She was clearly still asleep and yet I didn’t care.  I needed her up and teeth brushed and dressed and out the door. My older son was asleep; barely, however he heard my voice and his body did shift. My middle son was up and getting ready for his soccer game.

Yep today was the tournament. My son and his team played one game at 9:45 a.m., another game at 12:45 p.m. and a final game at 2:45 p.m.  They won each game and they are now the champions of the 11 and 12-year-old boys for Tracy Futbol Club. It was a hot day and a sunny day and the perfect day to be sitting outside all day.  I was able to read and I loved it! While I was sitting there, 2 different coaches approached me about my son playing for them on the competitive team. They said they have been watching him for the year.  Being scouted at 11 yrs old.  They expressed how they thought my son was very good and that he has the temperament to be playing soccer. It was a nice feeling to see that the passion he has for the game shows to those who know what to look for in a kid playing soccer. He will go to try-outs next week.  He was proud of himself and the team.

My older son and daughter spent the day with their father. I, of course, had to drive them to Oakland because their father does not come to get them. Now, I don’t want to do that and I shouldn’t. But I do, for the kids. If I did not their father wouldn’t make an effort  and the love him, so I do it.  When they are with him they do the usual thing with him which is to ride around, go eat and go to the movies and then go eat again and then there time is over.  Now this is not my cup of tea however they have gotten used to it and seem to enjoy being with their father.

Retiring at 55 is a good thing. There are times when my mind is firing on so many levels that I can hardly write them all down. I have post-its on my dresser mirror, a calendar on my bed, a calendar in the kitchen, a calendar in myu office – both Outlook and a hard copy calendar. I was so tired today that I almost cried. I called my mother and vented and she said it would be alright. Yes I know it will. I love my children and am proud of my children. I have a gymnast, a basketball player and now a soccer champ and children who respect me and others and most importantly respect themselves and are ok with expressing their individualities as well and that is what keeps them so close – that they are family.  Ain’t God good!

Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose
Seeks to enrich the lives of women through spoken word.
510-589-6445
yolandebarial@wordpress.com
www.redroom.com/member
ybarial@gmail.com“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers all sisters, young and seasoned, to become on-purpose for themselves.”

Leave a Reply

