Sunday again — A-men!!

Receiving the gift was the title of today’s message. It was taken from Ephesians 2 :8-10. The gift is free but it will cost us something. If  Jesus who was without sin, bled and died on the cross for our sins it cost him his life.  If  He had to do it, it means that we have to do it too.  Not die on the cross but we have to die to self. Pastor went on to describe the gift like receiving a credit card in the mail.  In order to use the card and to take advantage of whatever the credit you are afforded by virtue of  receiving the card, you have to activate the card by calling a number. God has given us a card and we have to call His name in order to activate the gift.  With Him we can buy anything. Your faith in Jesus will activate your card which is the faith that in Him you can buy anything.

My gift is in writing.  My gift gets activated the minute I put pen to paper and begin to write something, anything.  As I write/type I am often times surprised that my fingers are able to make the pen move and ink flows out and words that are in me come out, almost as if without a thought.  When my fingers touch the surface, that touching and pressing, will create the words that I can see, it is so effortless that the thoughts and the pressure on the instrument that scribes and my ability to get the thoughts out as fast as I think them on the paper, is amazing.  What a marvelous body the good Lord has made for us. This body can guide you to do good; as well as guide you to do wrong. The ultimate decision maker of what the body does is me, is you, is us.  We can think a thought and not act on it.  However, the minute we act on the thought, good, bad or indifferent, it has been solidified and become not only a part of our past also our future. We are forever colored by that action and we are also colored by what is written. The written word is a powerful instrument of change as well as a powerful instrument of complacency. So many just accept the cards they are dealt and go on and ooze through life. There is no contribution and it is a waste; as far as I am concerned, of the gift that is free that God gives us. 

I wrote a poem today while in service.  While in service, my mind actually can feel the words coming and I see something in my head that lets me know there is a poem getting ready to flow from my fingertips to the pen and to the paper. I wrote a poem today about the spoken word and the English language and that just because you can say it, doesn’t make it a word.  My gift is activated the minute I am in an environment of  peace and an open mind. Once I begin writing, I am unable to stop until I am done. I do not know when that stopping will occur. I don’t write in 1 minute or 10 minute intervals, I write until I run out of whatever I have for that moment. Then I look at the words and look at the way they flow and if I am not too tired by the time I finish, I will take the time to edit. If I am too tired I will wake up and fix it in the morning.  It is what it is.  What use to make me on edge all of the times, does not so much anymore. I know, that I know, that I know, that my gift from God is indeed free. I will make this gift work in His favor and to glorify and thank him for all that he has done for me and for my children. I will retire at 55.  As Yul Brunner said in The Ten Commandments … “so let it be written, so let it be done.”  Even back then your word was your bond and if you wrote it, it was going to happen. Mmmmm something to think about all over again.

Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose
Seeks to enrich the lives of women through spoken word.
510-589-6445
yolandebarial@wordpress.com
www.redroom.com/member
ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers all sisters, young and seasoned, to become on-purpose for themselves.”

Leave a Reply

