Minutia

Tonight I took my shower by candlelight. Why? Because I can. (smile) 

The feeling of warm water falling on me is soothing and I need to be soothed.  I have been so involved in my mind in the death of my uncle things just slowed down for me.  Even my writing which I have missed tremendously. I have experienced death – not like this though. He just went to sleep at 55 and did not wake up. It is true what is said that “tomorrow is not promised.” And it is not.   Why do we spend so much time on the trivial instead of spending time on the minutia of our lives.  The minutia is having dinner, having parties with friends, listening and trying your best to decipher what you your son has written, or whateer he is saying, working in the garden, looking at a sunset, enjoying the rain, the sound of a hummingbird as it flits around your garden, a smile of a child, the smell of a baby, the trials that make you stronger and the warmth of family and friends and the sitting in quiet and sleeping in your bed all warm and comfy and God.

The candlelit shower was my way of being reborn. Perhaps it would be nice if we all would enjoy the light in the dark.  The candlelight was just enough for me to see and the flicker against the shower’s glass doors reminded me that I was in a place of sanctuary. I will miss my uncle’s laugh and his spirit and his body.  I know his soul went to rest in peace.  I am back now and ready to write again, renewed, re-energized and shining bright.

Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose
Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers all sisters, young and seasoned, to become on-purpose for themselves.”

Leave a Reply

