Sunday

My favorite day is Sunday and when I retire at 55 it will still be my favorite day.  I get up in anticipation of  looking on the faces and hugging on the necks of my church family. A family that I have come to believe is just like a real family. Many family members mean well and yet their own individual preferences and prejudices get in the way. What I mean by that is that church families have to learn how to disagree in an agreeable fashion. Now this is something that I can do in a work environment and that ability to maintain some distance transforms to the church family.  I can do it in the church family circle because I make a concerted effort to keep Yolande’s opinions to herself.  Now, sometimes that is so hard for me to do. At the times when I want to explode and tell them (who is them?) how I think this or that should be done and what time are we going up there to sing and over and over I just close my mouth and say my line “I heard that girl, it’s no sweat off of my back, I am here to praise the Lord” and immediately those who I am listening to begin to slow it down and talk lower and less about whatever there concern and often times there opinion may be. I hug them if the time and opportunity presents itself and then I, the writer, go and sit down in the pew with my daughter. My sons sit in the back of the church with all of the other children of the church.  I feel better. I have my church home, my children, my pastor and I got up this morning. I also have my real family. We need them all and we respect them more.

Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose
Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial 

ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers all sisters, young and seasoned, to become on-purpose for themselves.”

Leave a Reply

