Cell phones are Us

Before I even begin let me issue a disclaimer. I am tired. That being said what is this addiction that we have with cell phones? Everywhere you go someone is talking into one, looking at one, touching one, listening to one, shouting into one, laughing into one and smiling into one.  If a cell phone was crack we would all be addicted.  I see grown men and women who use to be able shop all by themselves now have to have someone on the other end of this cell phone tell them what aisle to go down to find a bottle of dressing for their salad – now this small task becomes one that requires so much unneccessary conversation…… “Uh huh, yes I thought we would have a salad for dinner, I know just because I am on a diet doesn’t mean you have to be on one, but honey it is good for you, roughage you know and you have been having a little trouble lately and this will help. Ok, yeah I know I know I will lower my voice. OK salad dressing…salad dressing….salad dressing what aisle, oh yes near the fresh vegetables,ok, here oh yes here it is now, what kind do you want…… a vinaigrette, ranch, thousand island, Catalina, oh my honey dijon looks good, blue cheese, yuk. I do not like blue cheese. Ok a balsamic vinaigrette it is,  gosh there are so many kinds I’ll just get the Kraft, can’t go wrong with that one. Ok I was thinking about adding some feta – ok, got it. Alright what are you doing? Oh ok nothing oh well I better go check out. Oh good no one is in the 5 items or less line. I can go right there – uh huh, yes, oh my….giggle, giggle,..huh? hold on honey, Yes..I’m sorry what did you say? That’ll be $8.45, do you need help out ma’am?, thanks … out of a $10, here is your change and have a good day —mmmmsmile, OK I am back now..she was kinda cute young girl, about 20 something. Ok I am in the car I will see you when I get home..love you..”

I mean really can’t you just see and hear this conversation?  I see men and women walking for exercise ON THE PHONE. I see children riding bicycles ON THE PHONE. I see police officers driving in police cars holding a cell phone and talking ON THE PHONE. I see truck drivers, bus drivers, USPS and UPS employees ON THE PHONE while driving, meter maids and everyone else that drives a vehicle that is not supposed to be holding a cell phone – is holding it and talking. 

Whenever I begin to notice anything or feel something on a regular basis, I know that it is something that requires my attention.  It is generally something that may cause me some kind of growth. However the growth is preceeded by a discomfort, a minor pain, an irritation akin to the sand in the shell that irritates the inside of the shell so much until one day a perfect pearl is created. This pearl is the hardening of the gut on the inside of my stomach that tells me to pay attention. This is what Oprah does for me.  Oprah has a national campaign No Phone Zone.  http://www.oprah.com/health/The-Risks-of-Texting-While-Driving-Multitaskers-Beware 

No  texting while driving.  She asks people to sign the pledge.  I wonder how many lives have to be lost in these accidents waiting to happen and people die because they are hit and killed by distracted drivers?  I am guilty of this and justify it by saying that I can just  type in this one number and then I think it is only going to be a quick second.  A distracted drivers second is a lifetime of loss, if the second that it takes, takes a life.  I am no longer going to hold a phone nor text while I am driving.  It is something I have to do if I am going to write about it.  I have to walk my talk. I  have to retire at 55. 

Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose
Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

 ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers all sisters, young and seasoned, to become on-purpose for themselves.”

Leave a Reply

