First day of school

My children were up around the same time I was up this morning which meant my morning began with more activity than I would like. Today was their first day of school since May and even though I am happy about it, I also realize that it begins again the days and nights of homework, basketball and now soccer practice, gymnastics practices, back to school nights, meetings with the teachers, field trips and forms to fill out, minimum days and holidays and meetings with the girl scout troop and doctor appointments, dental appointments and days off  because of sick children.

All of this requires this now 50-year-old brain to remember and make notes, and write dates on calendar and cook dinner and take care of the rabbits and work 40 hours a week – I am the only one of the couple left that is willing to go through this maze of activity. The father has no involvement in any of these activities.

On this first day of school, I had allotted an extra 2 hours of vacation time, so that I could make sure my children were in their right place. My children however decided that I didn’t need those 2 hours – I just need to go to work.  Once at the office I ran into one of my coworkers and she asked me what was going on and I told her about my children not wanting me there. She said it is a good thing that you are and have raised children that are independent and are capable of navigating through the first day of school without me holding their hands.  This, is a good thing.

When I came home my daughter had not completed her homework and was outside playing. I told her to come in and complete it, after about 1 hour of trying to show her the timetables through her tears, I had  it.  I spanked her and she insisted that she didn’t know how to do the multiplication tables. It took her about an hour to finish something that she should have been able to do in about 15 minutes. She cried, she went to sleep, she whined, she complained that her fingers hurt, said she didn’t understand and then said she was tired again.  I woke her up each time and she cried and whined some more. After about an hour of this back and forth she completed her homework. I was exhausted and she was certainly exhausted. So much for independent children.  I know, one day at a time.  Raising children is a 24/7 job and then you do it all over again. It is a wonder that so many children even grow up based on how many things that we as parents have to remind them to do every single day. Brush their teeth, take a shower, make up their beds, eat breakfast, clean your ears, wash your hands and flush the toilet.  Day two is tomorrow – I am so excited.

Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose
Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

 ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers all sisters, young and seasoned, to become on-purpose for themselves.”

2 Responses

  1. i can’t find your comments

Leave a Reply

