What a night!

Yolande Barial & Monica

My feet still hurt! My diva friend and I had one of the most memorable parties that any two 50-year-old diva’s could have ever expected. We laughed, we cried, we danced, we whooooohaawd and giggled, and squealed with excitement as people who we had not seen in years and people that came from out-of-state and people who we loved and liked and worked with and had disagreements in love with; came together and celebrated not only our 50th – I think the celebration was one of enjoying life. I heard from guests that they had never had so much fun, they had never felt such positive energy and that they enjoyed the food and the DJ was off the chains! I heard from others that they felt that the first drag show performer was good, the second one was too much and at least one couple left and the others stayed and understood that it was just a show and even though it wasn’t their cup of tea; it was alright. We had a poet perform, we had a pianist sing a song and we had a praise dance & a poem performed by yours truly and a tribute to those who made her who she is from my divafriend.  We had guests that ranged from 20 to 80 and straight to gay, guests that were a couple and guests that were single and most importantly, we had people who came to party and who for the most part had open minds and open hearts.  The assembly told us both that we were a lot alike. Our inner circle and even our outer circle consists of people who are positive.  I was so excited I didn’t even eat.  I wanted to make sure that I spoke with everyone that I had invited and those that my friend had invited. 

I had this same kind of feeling years ago when I had my very first show at Starbucks. The place was packed, the air of anticipation was in the room and the people were positive. It was a good feeling then and it is definitely a feeling that is still a good thing. Life is meant to be enjoyed and to be honored and celebrated. We threw ourselves a birthday party and close to 150 people showed up!!! They showed up with anticipation, with gifts and with cards and with love in their hearts. It was a party that was no cost to them and we fed them and gave them a show.  We were happy to say thank you to them in this way for all of the years that they have fed into our lives. I am looking forward to retire at 55. There is no better way to begin 50 than this and I know God will provide.

Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose
Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

 ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers all sisters, young and seasoned, to become on-purpose for themselves.”

Leave a Reply

