Sunday’s Sun

Sunday is my favorite day. I spent  the weekend with my coworker friends, children and my divasisters and the men who love them.  What I saw, heard and felt was a lot of  love, a lot of laughter and a lot of talk. I saw women in various degrees of grown-up-ness and it came in the small little girl to the bowed yet stately older man. I saw white men and woman and black men and women and yellow women and men and children of all ages black, yellow and white all enjoying each other and the sun. Something about the sun, warm and illuminating that brings out the best in people. I can feel each and every ray that penetrates my skin and it is so invigorating and comforting. The sun is my friend and my healer. I have psoriasis and the years that I spent in the sun made  my skin go from itchy and cracked to one that even though cracked was not itchy. The sun has soothed me over the years and now as I sit, I sit as a woman who even though she still has psoriasis, psoriasis doesn’t have her.  

http://www.oprah.com/health/Dr-Oz-Discusses-Possible-Treatments-for-Psoriasis-Video

As I sit around the dining room table and sing happy birthday to one of my divasisters’ husband – I smile. I see love in their eyes and it is warm like the sun. I see a black woman who has been married 4 times and this time, she really has found love. She has found a man who really gets who she is and finally she has become a wife in love with a husband and one who is willing to do what he needs to fulfill him because he does for her. I look to my right and see a big strong white man sitting next to  his wife. Enjoying the sun he touches her as she talks to others. The love is there and you can feel it. When he moved, she moved, when she touched his back he grew closer. I see a beautiful tall light-skinned divasister in extreme like with her man also light-skinned. I see him touching her as he sits; I see her looking at him and wishing they were all alone to take that touch further. I see a man in church holding the bible as he embraces his wife with his left hand, they stand together and read His Word and love seeps out of their pores. My eyes observed so many men and women in relationship the way I want to be in relationship – forever.  However the relationship I want is the touch kind. That touch that tells others that see that this is love.

My children enjoyed the loud and boisterous divasister party in Richmond and also enjoyed the smooth, cool eclectic environment outside in Oakland. My children socialized with all of the divasisters children and grandchildren and visiting children and all of the children basked in the sun.  They tossed footballs, kicked soccer balls, bounced basketballs and skipped and swung on pushed swings and slid down slides and the older of the group watched and made sure in this sun and on her shift there would be joy.

The sun, vitamin D packed, bright and illuminating  – it brings me joy.

http://www.oprah.com/health/Vitamin-D-Defiency-Are-You-Getting-Enough

Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose

Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

/http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers women of all ages to be on purpose.

Leave a Reply

