Oprah

Well yesterday was Oprah’s first show of the last season of the Oprah Winfrey Show. I saw it yesterday and all of the 300 invited guests – her all-time favorite fans – I found that I was teary.  The women and the sprinkling of men that were in the audience were so excited, screaming, jumping, hugging each other and crying. The audience was in the same frenzy as the people we see at the Michael Jackson’s concerts, except for, of course, there was no fainting and having to be carried out of the arena – all sweaty and just plain old wrung out from the sheer excitement of the experience of being in the presence of Michael.  Oprah’s fans, those who have been with her on this amazing ride for 25 years, are taken aback by how quick that 25 has flown.  I remember the first time she came on the air, I was 25 years old.  She captivated me from the first show and to this day she still makes me smile.  As a fellow Mississippian, she makes me proud. As a black woman I am in awe of her ability to cross color lines. As a woman who has loved and lost and loved and lost and loved and finally got it – I say you go girl! As a woman who loves God as I loved God I welcome her  insights. As a girlfriend to Gayle, I fee her. To have someone love you even when you are not lovable is the ultimate in being a true friend.  

I remember the very first time I had my show at Starbucks in Oakland.  The place was packed, there were no more chairs for people to sit in, the tables were bunched together to accommodate all of the people who were standing and there were even people hanging around outside – waiting for my first poetry show to begin at Magic Johnsons Starbucks.  I was the producer, the director, the writer and the all around hostess with the most-est. I was amazed that so many people came.  They came of course to listen to spoken word and yet I know that the larger reason they came was for me. To support me and to be able to enjoy some of their friends who they knew would also be there to support me.  I remember sitting with my mr. chocolate holding his hands, looking into his eyes and saying to him that I can’t believe it.  He said matter of fact, I don’t know why you have put the work into this and of course they were coming.  I smiled and felt so much love and appreciation and what was more it was respect.  I can only imagine that my feeling of OMG are magnified akatrillion times with Oprah.  I  had a birthday party with my girlfriend to thank the people in my life for their continued support. It was  a party where we had guests and no one had to pay for the show nor the dinner. Oprah gave her 300 guests a trip to Australia that was her way of saying thank you.  http://www.oprah.com/oprahshow/Oprahs-Surprise-for-Her-Ultimate-Viewers-Video

It is not what you know, it is who you know and how you treat who you know when you don’t need them.  Oprah Winfrey has done amazing things with her life and with the wealth that she has been blessed to have. She gives back and gives back and then gives more; and it is always magnified back to her many times over. I plan to give another party one day to these same people who made me who I am at 50 – again.  Maybe at 100 years old. Retiring at 55 – whew – time does go by. 

Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose

Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

 https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/ 

 http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial 

ybarial@gmail.com 

 “Through her inspiraional writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers women of all ages to be on purpose.

Leave a Reply

