Bicycle Helmets – “where are you”?

This year my children began riding their  bicycles to school.  The 3 of them ride as many other children ride to school – without helmets.  The reason that my children give is that there is no place to keep the helmet. Well I did some digging today… In their schools – elementary school has some place to put the bike, nothing about the helmet;  middle school has a place to put the bike that is caged however helmets are left on the bike; high school has a place to put the bike however no place for their helmet other than their backpack.  The reason I had not enforced the helmet was because I have been just plain tuckered out.  I am back now ….our children should have a place to keep their helmets; after all California State Law Senate Bill 1924 mandates that they wear helmets. Mmmmm. http://www.cdph.ca.gov/HealthInfo/injviosaf/traffic/Documents/SB1924-VOSP.pdf

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/HealthInfo/injviosaf/traffic/Documents/SB1924-VOSP.pdf

2 Responses

  1. My children have never worn helmets – there again, there’s no law about them in these parts. But I don’t think there’s anything irrational about that. Helmet laws have stopped a lot of people cycling and have done nothing for head injury rates, see Robinson DL. No clear evidence from countries that have enforced the wearing of helmets. BMJ. 2006 March 25; 332(7543): 722–725. doi: 10.1136/bmj.332.7543.722-a. http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/articlerender.fcgi?tool=pubmed&pubmedid=16565131 (Robinson’s work uses the best scientific methods, all available control groups and so on.) I hope that information helps to avoid fruitless struggles!

    • Thank you I will take a look at what you have sent to me Mr. Keatinge. My first thought as a mother is that whether scientific or not, if my sons or daughter were to get in an accident and I did not make them wear a helmet and this could’ve saved them a head injury I would be remiss as a parent. I think as adults we owe it to our children and to the children of others to at least raise the question. So thanks I do appreciate it. I look forward to the read. I will comment when I digest the information. Have a good one!!

Leave a Reply

