Recycle

Ok, enough with the recycle bins.  We received a brand new shipment of them in the office last Thursday and to be honest I am confused. There is one bin for trash, one bin for bottles/cans, one bin for glass bottles, one bin for mixed paper, one for white paper and one for food scraps.  We have to make decisions about which bin we are going to place our trash in sometimes several times a day.  We make the decision  in the lunch room, in the mail room and in the park.  Now recycling is a multimillion dollar business.  There are different color bins, different sizes and different types of recycle bins.  Bins are now purchased for their uniqueness and their ability to lock into place and to be honest I harken (I have always wanted to use ‘harken’ in a sentence) back to the time when garbage was placed in a garbage can and the only people who dug around in the can were homeless people who were in dire need of a shower.  Well no longer everyone is digging in garbage cans now.  The economy has forced us to be one in ‘lack’.  I digress.  We have websites devoted to recycling and the bins who make the money for them. At my office we have signs on the recycle bins so that we know which bin should accept which particular type of trash. I find myself standing in front of the bins reading the explanation of what bin I should discard my paper napkins and my colored paper and my plastic water bottle. I believe they all go in different containers.  We spend a lot of time staring at these bins trying to figure out what item goes in what bin and then if you are like me, you receive a little twinge in your stomach when you know you messed it up.

I just want to throw it away, I don’t want to have to think about it too.

 Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose

Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers women of all ages to be on purpose.”

Leave a Reply

