5th Sunday

Sunday is my favorite day.   I always feel at home when I come into the doors of the sanctuary.  The kids and I sit in the same area. The boys sit in the back with the rest of the children. My daughter sits right next to me. We are surrounded by others who sit in the same area and we worship with like minds on Sunday. We come to fellowship, to praise, to hug and share and help each other to enjoy the day that the Lord has made.

The  reverend preached about 1 Cor 3:1-3 which talks about the people being worldly and fighting amongst themselves.  It then says that we are so infantile that the only thing that we can be fed is milk because we have not progressed to the point where we are more mature so that we can eat meat.  This woman reverend talked about our children and how important it is for us, as their parents, to raise them up to be able to move from milk to meat. I heard what she said in my way and I heard what the Holy Spirit needed me to hear in my way.  My children are the most important things collectively that I have ever created and it is my job as the parent and the provider to guide them into their meat-ness.  As parent, I can be easily distracted by all of the things that the world has to distract me from traffic, bills, coworkers,  family and friends; to what I don’t have and what I wish I had – all distractions. These move me away from what my focus should always be on. My eyes and my mind should be grounded in the Word. My time spent alone and in quiet like now, is when I hear what I need to hear and it is when Spirit speaks to me and reminds me that without Him I am out here in this world of distractions all by myself.  And when left to myself, my brain wants to help the Lord to get to what I think the Lord must want me to do or want my kids to become. So, just in case He happens to be too busy to complete that which has already been pre-destined I sometimes initiate something that is going to happen anyway I make it happen sooner. I make it easier for people to accommodate me instead of me just being still and seeing if these people want to accommodate me and if so, let them show me before I move the bar lower. What I want for my children I must model.  If not, they will grow up to move their own bars so low that no one has to reach for it, they just step over it and find themselves in places that they have not yet earned the right to be in.  Certain moves take time. They take planning. They take commitment and they take desire. They take delayed gratification and a firm knowledge and commitment on standing on something that will not be moved. The only being that I know that is not moved by the situations that surround Him, it is the Lord.  He parts the waters, he swirls the waters and he stills the waters allowing nothing to distract him from his primary purpose.

 Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose

Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers women of all ages to be on purpose.”

Leave a comment