Like daughter/Like mother

Sunday was a rainy day. After service we came home and chilled. My boys went directly to the video game and they can remain cloistered all day long coming out only to feed or drink. My daughter does her own thing, she writes, she folds her clothes and puts them up, she sings, she plays her guitar, she talks to herself, she plays with her li’l pet shop cats and her stuffed animals; she does all of this all by herself. She loves playing and being in her own room, doing her own thing. She comes out to make sure I am in the house.   http://www.oprah.com/oprahradio/The-Myth-of-Quality-Time

This day is mani/pedi day for me.  I have my feet soaking in a  foot spa and all of the accoutrement that goes into soaking, scrubbing and cleaning your feet surround me. I am preparing my feet and my nails for the polish that will make my hands shine with too hot colors and my feet not only look gorgeous but feel pampered. I polish my nails and create a design on one finger on the left hand and one big toe on the right foot.

My daughter loves mani/pedi’s. When I am done with mine she knows it is her turn. I call her from her one girl show and she emerges. She comes and sits on the floor next to me and picks out her colors. She always wants her fingernails and her toenails in different colors. She removes her old polish with the fingernail polish remover and then she cleans her nails. I then trim her nails and shape them and then I begin to polish them. She also wants a design on two of her fingernails, one on each hand,  and a design on each one of her big toes.  During this time we both enjoy each other. We talk about whatever is on her mind and I love to listen to what is on her mind. On this Sunday we talked about her dreams and she says that she can visualize very well. (smile)  We also watch a Nature program during this time.  This one was about the migration of the monarch butterfly and the crab. Last week during our time, we watched a show about crows and their intelligence. We both love programs about animals. 

She is so much like me. I am so much like her. That little girl that she is, is also me.  The time that we spend together on our weekly mani/pedi’s are memories that she will have to sustain her when I am gone.  I never was able to do things like this with my mother – times were different then and I know that my mom had a lot on her plate. I actually never even had a manicure or a pedicure until after I had my 2nd son. Now you talk about a slow learner!!  

I recognize that relationships are built one moment at a time and the sense memories and smell of fingernail polish, fingernail polish remover will remind my daughter of the good times we had in my room – just the two of us. Like daughter/like mother.  I will retire at 55.

Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose

Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers women of all ages to be on purpose.”

Leave a Reply

