Relaxation

There is nothing like relaxing.  Not the kind of relaxing that many women do when given an opportunity to be off from work – we multitask.  The day before any major holiday I have made  a list of  things that absolutely must be accomplished on my day off. The list: 1. get up around 6:45 a.m. and get ready to take the van to Honda for its 3000 mile oil change 2. while waiting in the lobby for the van to be done I am having a cup of coffee and a donut and a banana that the Honda dealership gives as a courtesy to its clients while waiting for var service 3. come home and announce to the kids that they have nothing to do today, because they are on vacation also, except to make sure they clean their rooms, clean their individual bedrooms and dust the furniture and later on the lawn has to be cut; other than that, that  is all they have do to. 4. I then make a big breakfast complete with cheese omelets, medium fried eggs, bacon, sausage, grits and honey butter toast 5. then I clean kitchen and begin a load of clothes washing 6.I then run to the dollar store, to Big Lots and to Food Maxx for groceries and canned goods and then come home – kids take out all of the groceries, etc. out of the van 7. I put them all up with assistance by little people who are now playing, skipping and touching each other into a frenzy of ultimate joy and brother-sisterhood and I AM NONE TOO HAPPY! You see it is my day off and I am trying to hurry up so that I can relax. (smile) Now isn’t this just plain stupidity on my part!  Can the church just say  AAAAMEN. 

Well gotcha! Not today.Not today. The night before I planned to sleep in and not do anything like I had done on my many days off.  I vowed to myself by saying Yolande today you are going to do nothing but relax. I washed and braided my daughter’s hair and took my oldest to basketball practice. As I braided my daughter’s hair, she and my middle son and I watch  Evan Almighty”. This may seem not like a big deal to you; however to me it was a very big deal. 

Have you ever seen this movie? Well my children watch it all of the time and I have only seen glimpses of it as I pass by the television cleaning and fussing because they are not doing anything just watching this movie. I know the movie is good, it looks good, it has Morgan Freeman in it and Steve Carrell. Both of whom I like.  It had animals and it is the story of Moses and the Ark.  Acts of Random Kindness is what the movie says Ark stands for. Kinda cool. The lesson for me is that there is s scene in the movie where God aka Morgan Freeman tells Moses/Steve Carrell’s wife that if it hadn’t been for the struggles that her husband was going through would they be as close as they are now? What that meant to me is that God allows trouble.  He is the one who troubles the trouble. Only then do we know where our strength really lies? It does not lie in our mate, our friends, our relatives or our children.The reliance that we have should and alway needs to be focused direclty on Him. Our God.  Even when you get trouble, if you take the time to think and prya and NOT react he will guide your through it and you will come out on the other side – victorius.

So waht real relaxing did for me today was to keep me intouch with whom I know is in charge. My children asked questions, I answered. Afte rhte movie all 3 kids and myself went out to dinner at Home Town Buffet. We had a date and what a good time it was. I lloked at each of my children as they giggled, I touched them, I teased them and I laughed with them. They played, got extremely animated and ate and ate and ate. I loved them intensely and I know tey love me. Now what could be better?

Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose

Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers women of all ages to be on purpose.”

Leave a Reply

