Sunday Again

My favorite day!  I kinda’ never went to sleep Saturday night. Mom taxi was running from 7:30 a.m. with both boys and daughter from Ripon back o Tracy from Tracy to Richmond back to Tracy to Stockton back to Tracy. My head hit the pillow at 3:00 a.m. Yep 3 a.m. The last several hours were for me and I enjoyed them immensely. 

However, I went to sleep anticipating Children’s Church Sunday. I compiled, typed and printed the children’s newsletter for the children to distribute. I spent the entire service sitting with the children in the choir stand. I sit with the little ones and the tweens and quite frankly spend about an hour and a half being a mom to about 15 children. The choir walks in the service from tallest to lowest teens and from tallest to lowest tweens and kids, I am holding onto an adorable little 3-year-old who is hearing impaired and who has yet to learn the sign language and the ability to keep her vocals down to a whisper.  She likes to run and clap and sing – and she will run away from you in a heartbeat which is dangerous of course because she cannot hear.  I hold her small hand as we enter the sanctuary preventing her from running ahead of me.  The minute myself and 2 other good church sisters process in with the children we are on alert for the whispers, giggles, eyes rolling,  lips moving with no sound coming out, the slumped in the chair sitting, the I-have-to-go the bathrooms and the I want-a-drink-of -water statements and actions of these our future leaders of the church. We say please be quiet, hush, and smile, stop talking, stop talking and stop talking over and over and over again. These children are oblivious to what the proper protocol should be acted upon when in the sanctuary. Their  parents are either blind, not able to manage their bundles of joy or just out right oblivious to the mis-manners of their progeny.  I prefer to think that they MUST BE BLIND.  The children sing. They sing and they sing all manner of song just beause they have to sing it; however, when you allow them to sing their songs they love that also  and when we sing same, it is almost like there is another choir on the altar. And who woulda’ thunk it? It really is us.  I work for this ministry because of my children.  If I expect them to continue to be leaders as each one is, I must continue to put forth my effort and lead and make that leadership one of a supportive role.  It is not necessary for a leader to  be out front. Some of our best leadership in any organization is found in what people call the grunt work.  I guess what that means is the person lacks the ability to express either his or her interest or disinterest in a particularly duty – so when called upon to perform; we give a no-answer-yes we will do it and with a  grunt at the end when we agree and of course always when we are alone. We do not want people to think that we don’t wanna even if we don’t wanna do it anymore.

I was so easily distracted this morning I had to go back to another service for a second helping. That is a blog all by itself.  I love Sundays I will retire at 55 and I love my children even more. God is forever and ever a being that is like no other and for that I am tremendously grateful to Him.

 Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose

Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers women of all ages to be on purpose.”

Leave a Reply

