Relaxed Son

He came downstairs and said he had a lot on his mind.  I was lying on the couch watching nothing tv and enjoying my home and my life and my children and our choices.  I knew that he was going to tell me something that I really needed to hear. These are the times that parents need to allow space to happen. Times when there is really nothing going on. No schedules to keep, no place to go and nothing to do – this is relaxation.  Real relaxation allows not only the body it also allows the mind the time it needs to be refreshed with its keeper of the body. This is the time when breath and body should become one. This was what I felt – relaxed.

He laid down on the loveseat and placed his hands behind his head. He had on long shorts for his pajamas and no shirt. He loves his abs. He says he has an 8 pack,  not just a 6 pack. He does sit  ups and leg lifts and push ups in his room every day. He has no fat and is all muscle. He is lean.  He is my middle son. He says that he has a lot of things on his mind. “Here we go”, says my mind, ‘hang on Yolande, here we go. He says that he likes his girlfriend. He adds I like her because she doesn’t chase me like the other girls – I chase her. I smiled and he looked at me and I said well, that is a good thing. He then asked me did you ever chase a guy. I said no, girls should never chase a guy. I said a guy should always pursue a girl because he is the one that has to maintain and take care of  her. He said, well that’s why I like her and I like to talk to her. I said that is a good thing, just be respectful and treat her nice. He said he would.  He laid there with his hands behind his head for a few more seconds and then he got up and went upstairs. We exchanged I love you’s and knowing glances and that was it.

I laid there on the couch smiling. Glad to be able to give my children a home filled with peace, filled with love and respect and filled with God.  Retiring at 55. Yes.

Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose

Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers women of all ages to be on purpose.”

Leave a Reply

