Yesterday’s Sunday

Yesterday was my favorite day. I woke up in the usual manner excited and anticipating what was going to happen to me today.  I bounced into the service full of energy and full of dance. I exchanged hugs and kisses, shout outs and what ups with the adults and the kids. I always make sure I say something to the children who sit in the  back rows on both sides of the church.  There faces light up when they see me. This Sunday for the first time I saw in their eyes that the kids like me.  Not just the sweet ones, the ones that I didn’t particularly like when I first joined the church because I felt that they were just rude little kids. As I have become more involved in the church and in particular with the children, over time the ones who I know couldn’t stand me – the teenage girls – have mellowed and they now see something in me that is, worth the investment of a smile. I realized on this yesterday’s Sunday that by just being me and not wavering the kids have realized that I am a woman who is invested in them as individuals. The little kids turn around and look at me as I sit in my usual pew.  There eyes can barely see above the pew and as I look at them looking at me there eyes smile which makes me smile and we smile at each other for  a second or two and then they turn around.  The young children 9 and under sit in the front rows of the church. Each one turns around as if on cue, one after another. Looking at me with their smiling eyes.

http://www.oprah.com/relationships/Ways-for-Children-to-Volunteer  Retiring at 55 is coming closer one day at a time.

 Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose

Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers women of all ages to be on purpose.”

One Response

  1. Dear Yolande / Woman Who Nurture Children and Inspire Women,

    Please help spread the word about 16 Days of ARTivism for healing and education to end violence against women and girls by writing a post between now and Dec. 10, 2010. Thank you!

    Today, Tuesday November 23, 2010, Noon– at steps of San Francisco City Hall. MamaCoAtl, playwright Kim McMillon, Poet Nina Serrano, city officials and community members will kick off 16 Days of ARTivism for healing and education to end violence against women and girls. How befitting that the 16 days of ARTivism will then begin on Nov. 25 UN International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women & Girls, which is also Thanksgiving Day this year 2010!
    For schedule of events through Dec. 10, 2010 http://16daysofartivismforthehealingofviolence.wordpress.com/

    Sincerely,

    Teresa LeYung Ryan, Author/ Writing Career Coach / Manuscript Consultant / GraceArt Publishing

    “Teresa uses her book Love Made of Heart to help survivors of violence find their own voices through writing.” lovemadeofheart.com

Leave a Reply

