Sunday

Sunday is my favorite day.  I wake up anticipating the words that I will hear as I attend service. Today I woke up in anticipation which became irritation.  I overslept and I was tired.  I wanted to listen to Charles Stanley but I could not.  Because I had overslept that meant no one bothered to get up. No one ate breakfast or brushed their teeth, made up their bed or even decided what they were going to wear to church.  What that means is that I was irritated. My kids knew it and I knew it; however I had to push through it and make sure that they were all ready to go, as was I.  Today was the church play and the children were going to act out the play and read their poems.  This play and the read was unorganized during rehearsals.  Children didn’t listen, giggled, told jokes, texted, look at the phone over and over again, talked loud, chased each other and generally didn’t pay any attention to what was expected of them. Having worked with these youth I know that when called upon to perform, they will perform.  Something about the mic and being on stage that brings out the actor in them all.  However anything that requires them to sit, not to touch the drums, not to touch the piano, the organ, the sound system or  stop jumping, well that is a challenge.  They just don’t seem to be able to refrain from behaving like children who realize that they are in the room with adults.  This type of excitement immediately gave me a headache.  It took me out of my comfort zone, it removed me from the place of peace that I so enjoy on a Sunday.

The play went and came and the kids did quite well.  However, I was exhausted. I immediately came home, ate a big bowl of spaghetti and climbed into my bed. I wrote.  I will have another Sunday morning in a few days and I expect the same kind of anticipation next Saturday.  I so love going to service.  I realized that retiring at 55 I have learned what I will and will not do. I will assist, I will support and I will work with the children. At this stage of the game, I don’t think I have the where-with-all to lead these children – at least not yet.

Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose

Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers women of all ages to be on purpose.”

Leave a Reply

