My Son

The game last night was awesome. They won the game and were up by about 8 points. It was a tough game and the boys played wonderfully. There are a group of moms that I like to sit with and last night we were like a group of 16-year-old teenaged cheerleaders. We clapped, we stomped, we screamed at the boys, we told them what to do, we clapped, we expressed outrage at the refs call under our breath so as not to penalize the boys, we rolled our eyes, we had opinions on coaching and on boys who probably shouldn’t try to do a lay-up, a three pointer or even defense because that was not their gift, we laughed and we laughed; the boys heard us and they were jazzed. My son played just about the entire game and he was like a gazelle running down the court.  I smiled. 

 The game tonight was even better.  They lost. It was a tough game.  My son played the entire game. The score was 63 – 60 until about 21 seconds in the 4th quarter and we fouled and they had a 2 shot.  It went in – game 65-60.  The boys again played awesome.  You could tell that they had decided to play their game regardless of the coaching.  They were like mini professional ballers.  The sistagirlmommie cheerleaders were on point.  We had a blast. When the game was over my son was talking about it; he was jazzed.  I told him he played a real good game and he smiled and said I proved to myself that I could do it and I proved to my girlfriends parents I can really play.  I just said that is good and smiled.  I love basketball seems to be his mantra.  He has thought on those words and they have become a part of him. I know that my son really has his mojo back and he knows it!  He is such a good teamplayer and an excellent point guard.  I am bias of course; he knows the other boys strengths and weaknesses and he is able to get the boys to maneuver and he knows who can shoot and who can just lay it up there.  He gives the ball away freely and has no court ego.

I was just proud of him.  The difference in the way he walked told me that he felt like the lion on the Serengeti who walks slowly deliberate and with purpose stalking his prey; quietly. My son is making this retirement thing look real good. 

 I know that I have raised some pretty awesome  children and they will be around for the rest of the best of my life helping me if necessary and taking care of me always.  They know I think they are the cat’s meow and that is a good thing.

Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose

Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers women of all ages to be on purpose.”

Leave a Reply

