Sunday

Sunday is my favorite day.  I woke up with the usual anticipation. Cognizant of what a word can do for me – I smile.  When we walked into the sanctuary we heard the voice of Martin Luther King, Jr. blaring out of the speakers.  The energy in the room was palpable. Everyone wanted to be here today. Worship was in the air.  When he stood up to speak I smiled.  He is my pretend boyfriend – the kind that I have always felt I deserved. (stop giggling) He wears a suit like no other, he gives warm cheek kisses and squeezy hand holdings, he says he is married and yet I sense that he is not (stop laughing).  He reads his bible, he has joined the men’s group, he participates in any event that the church throws, he helps out on the snow trip, he thinks my kids are great, he says he loves me (church love) and he greets all of those other women the same way.  He is my pretend boyfriend  (giggle) .  Today when he spoke about Martin Luther King, Jr. – I was in awe. 

The way he delivered the words, the manner that he spoke – the sincerity, the kindness, the knowledge and the carefully placed emphasis on sentences left the church in silence. (oh gooey goo goo)  I grabbed my journal and wrote two phrases that came out of his mouth “Jesus was not playing” and “to love your enemies is a very hard thing to do”.  He was comparing MLK to Jesus. What I got out of his talk today was that, what MLK had to do was in some ways similar to what Our Father had to do.  He had to preach nonviolence because he realized that the dominant race at the time only knew violence.  He knew that fighting violence with violence was not the same.  He knew that the only way to even begin to see a glimmer of hope, what has to be done is that, the violent ones sins must be revealed and brought to the forefront; so that this humiliation would cause the violent person to back down and stop on his own.  In Jesus’ time we see that in the writing the sins of those accusing the woman of adultery in the sand and the time when the King called for all of the first borns to be killed in an effort to kill Jesus who was a first both,  the Kings’ son died and eventually the King let the people go.

Pastor spoke about the challenge to change and said that MLK challenged America to change just as God has challenged us to change.  We need to have a vision and that vision needs to allow us to change and to become what God has already ordained.  It is our life’s purpose and whether we do it now or later we will do it. I would rather do it now to be able to slide into retirement at 55 with a knowledge that I am changing in HIS Time and by HIS grace.

 Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose

Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers women of all ages to be on purpose.”

Leave a Reply

