Foreclosed Christmas

It’s a Foreclosed Christmas and a …… Happy New Year?

The only thing that my 9 -year old said would make her happy was to have a dog for Christmas.  She is prone to dramatic episodes that have been acted out on stages as large as the living room and as small as the area of the home she refers to as her bedroom; or the bedroom I allow her to sleep in.  The Monday she wrote a letter to Santa Claus telling him she had to have a dog, I was steadfast and firm on my decision. No dog. However, by Friday I could feel that her heart was breaking. She cried, she moaned, she moped, she was sad. I have never seen her like this before. My entire weekend was spent mourning the fact that I made my child unhappy. I physically felt the words that my mother said to me when I was a child when she saw that she had hurt me and that was that the action hurt her more than it hurt me.   

During this time of mourning over what I could not give my child, I began to reflect upon the times in which we now live. Times when parents cannot give their children even the basics. There are parents who have lost their jobs and whose homes have been foreclosed upon.  Parents who are forced to move and uproot their lives and the lives of their children through circumstances that are in many ways out of their control.  Parents who can no longer provide health care for their families and toys and gifts for their children this season. Parents who have done the best that they know how only to find out it is just not enough. This year we have learned that life is precious and time is fleeting and that we must all work together or not work at all. It is a time to put aside differences in parties and in ideologies and get to the business of planning a future for our children’s future.

What does living through all of these changes do to a child? What does a child feel when the person or persons that are called upon to provide can no longer do so? What do the eyes of a child see as they look into their parents’ eyes and know that the parent is unsure and that parent feels remorse? What happens to the child’s feelings of safety? What happens to the parent who has been foreclosed upon, who watches their child hurt for Christmas….a Happy New Year?

Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose
Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

ybarial@gmail.com

yokids3@sbcglobal.net

 “Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers women of all ages to be on purpose.”

Leave a Reply

