Middle Son’s Best

After a week of being fruitful and frustrated without benefit of my trusty laptop, I find that there is so much in me that needs to come out and yet not enough time to make it all fit into my schedule.

My middle son, the cook, the quiet one, the patient one, the one who likes to “chill” (his words) left for 5 days last week. He attended Science Camp and was the first time that he was away from home without benefit of family.  He is my child who is not as excitable as the other two; however he can get silly and begin giggling and when that happens, he cannot be stopped. His voice becomes squeaky, he holds his stomach, he flops on the floor, he rolls around, he gets up, he giggles some more – he laughs and to be honest I end up smiling at him. He is enjoying the humor whether real or imagined and I am enjoying seeing my quiet son – exuberant.  I missed him.  His presence in the home is comforting and calming.  He has a manner about him that is not like that of a child, but of a young man.  He is self-assured inside and  yet outwardly he appears to,  be shy.  He is not. He is observant and he is wise. As you can see I love him muchos. When I saw him on Friday, I kissed him and told him I loved him and asked him how was camp? He said it was alright and it was cool and it wasn’t that much fun. My heart sunk.  I continued not fun, what did you do.  He then proceeded with stories about hiking at night, hiking daily for 5 miles, about going to the beach, seeing coyote and deer, running down hills, singing camp songs, learning about nature and being in the wilderness, about helping girls walk down hills while they held onto him –  in his count there were 5 of them and they thought he was cool, he talked about how good the food was, he talked about the counselors and finally he said that he wanted to go back and be a counselor when he is in high school.

When I was in high school. I attended Girls State which is held at University of  Southern Mississippi. I was away from home for the first time without benefit of family. http://girlsnation-auxiliary.com/girlsstate.asp I loved it.  At the time, I didn’t realize the value that it brought to me becoming me.  I was not able to truly understand the benefits that my parents had given me for allowing me the freedom to venture out and try something different. This was my first taste of how the government works by allowing all of us girls to become senators and congressmen for the week that we were there. We drafted legislation and we had elections.  It stirred in me something that I now realize was my fundamental belief that anything really is possible if you can write it you can speak it and you can become it.

My son who just had an alright time at Science Camp has made me smile.  He also has just touched the surface of what he will become, do and achieve. If being a counselor is what he wants to do, I will make sure that he has the tools to be able to become a counselor during high school.  My middle son has leadership skills developing that he does not see yet. As mom and soon to be retired at 55, I see them.  He is a good boy and a wonderful son and brother and friend.  I count him as part of the  fruit that overwhelmed me this week and for that I am grateful.  

Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose

Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

ybarial@gmail.com

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers women of all ages to be on purpose.”

Leave a Reply

