The day after

Sunday, my favorite day, has come and gone and with it one of the best weekends I have had in a very long time.  Kids were well-behaved, sweetie was cute and handy and I am in love with all four. I woke up with a renewed energy and with the excitement that this day brings.  The church was on fire with the spirit and the words that were spoken were not memorable; however, the feelings that I felt in the sanctuary this day, made my mind relax and know that He is alive and present in my life.  The God that has sustained and kept me continues to do so. 

As my children are becoming older I find that I talk louder. I talk louder because quite frankly my subconscious is telling me “they don’t hear you, say it again and say it louder.”  So, I do. I say it again, I say it louder and then I yell it again and yell it louder. However as I heard his whisper say “shhhhh… don’t yell, talk quietly and tell him what you want them to do.  In this case, on Friday morning, my oldest son was calling my name and as I leaned over the 2nd floor banister to see what was the matter, I look down. He is sitting on the edge of the couch, backpack on his back, ready for school and he says just as calmly as I ask what time is it, the toilet is stopped up and there is water coming out of it. I immediately raise my voice and ask him what are you sitting there for, get a towel or something and clean it up.  My oldest son who understands chemistry and the dynamics of basketball and now track, seems to be at a loss as to what to do now. He sits.

 I felt his kiss and then I felt relief.  There really is no need to escalate from one decibel level to a higher one when speaking to children.  From about  12-years old to maybe 20-something-years old – boys seem to be devoid of the proper responses to elicit in a situation. There is no panic, no fear and no understanding of what is happening and what to do next.   This is the reason to have another around to see what you cannot see and to check what you need to do better. I saw and I will do better.

Yolande Barial
Your Words Project: Speaking on Purpose

Seeks to Enrich the Lives of Women through Spoken and Written Word.
510-589-6445

https://yolandebarial.wordpress.com/

http://www.redroom.com/member/yolandebarial

ybarial@gmail.com

http://www.tracypress.com/view/full_story/11154526/article-Her-Voice–Children-are-a-parental-responsibility?

http://lovemadeofheart.com/blog/tag/yolande-barial 

“Through her inspirational writings and spiritual poetry, Yolande Barial empowers women of all ages to be on purpose.”

Leave a Reply

